Bridge (en)Admin Guide Account SettingsHow do I manage user permissions in an account?

How do I manage user permissions in an account?

Account admins have the ability to view and manage permissions for default and custom user roles in their account. Bridge has five default user roles: Employee, Author, Admin, IT Admin and Account Admin. In addition to the default user roles, a Bridge user can be assigned as a manager of a user or group of users. The manager role is optional and is automatically created through CSV import.

Account admins can create custom roles and assign and modify user roles to learners on the Users page.

Notes:

  • This feature is enabled by default for account admins, but can be turned on for admins and IT admins.
  • Admins can limit a manager’s default permissions but cannot give the manager role additional permissions. 
  • Additional permissions can only be given to managers by assigning them an additional role like admin or account admin.
  • This feature is not available in Bridge for Teams accounts.

Learn more about roles and permissions in Bridge.

Open Admin Menu

In the Global Navigation menu, click the Application Switcher icon [1]. Then, click the Admin menu option [2].

Note: The Global Navigation menu may differ depending on what is enabled in your account.

Open Roles and Permissions

In the Users and Permissions menu [1], click the Roles and Permissions link [2].

View Permissions

View Permissions

On the Permissions page, you can view the name of each category, group, and permission, and which user roles have a given permission.

Permissions are organized by category [1], group [2], and individual permissions [3]. Below each permission group, you can view a brief description of what the permission allows [4].

To view individual permissions within a group, click the expand/collapse arrow [5].

Manage Permissions

Default user roles for a permission represented by a gray box and lock icon [1] are locked by default and cannot be modified.

Custom roles are indicated by a pink box [2] and are displayed next to the permissions of the default role it was based on. Custom roles that are optionally added to a permission are indicated by a gray box with no lock icon [3]. To edit a permission group, locate the permission group [4] and click the Edit icon [5]. Changes will apply to all permissions within that group; however, you will still be able to edit individual permissions.

Learn more about editing user role permissions.

Custom Settings

Custom settings for a permission group indicates that at least one permission within the group has been modified for a user role.

Filter Permissions

In the Search field [1], you can search all permissions.

In the Filter by menu [2], you can filter by role to view permissions for the selected role(s).