Certica Products

Leaving the Item Editor

Updated Apr 12, 2021

When you are finished editing or creating an item, leave the item editor.

When leave the editor, the item is checked in, freeing the item for authorized users to edit or move along in its workflow.

Leave Editor

Click the Leave Editor icon.

Note: If you leave the editor without using the Leave Editor icon, the item remains checked out to you and others cannot edit it. Learn more about checking items in and out.

View Author Permissions Options

View Author Permissions Options

If you have author permissions, you can select to leave the editor or commit the item for moderation.

To leave the item in draft state, select the Leave Editor option [1]. The item remains only visible to you, and no owner is assigned.

To assign an owner for the item, select the Commit Item (Pending Moderation) option [2]. The item transitions from draft to awaiting moderation state.

Find Drafted Items

Find Drafted Items

To find drafted items later, click the Draft icon and select to view your drafted items.

View Administrator Permissions Options

View Administrator Permissions Options

If you have administrator permissions, you can select to leave the editor, commit the item, lock the item, or publish the item.

To leave the item in draft state, select the Leave Editor option [1]. The item remains only visible to you, and no owner is assigned.

To assign an owner for the item, select the Commit Item (Require Moderation) option [2]. The item transitions from draft to awaiting moderation state.

To skip moderation for the item, select the Commit Item (Skip Moderation) option [3]. The item moves to the item bank transitions to in development state where others can view it.

To commit the item and lock it from edits, select the Lock Item option [4].

To commit the item and skip review and edit steps, select the Publish Item option [5]. If your organization has publishing requirements, verify that the item includes a stem, a correct answer, a subject, a vendor ID, and required custom tags. You may also want to include standard alignment, depth of knowledge, difficulty, Bloom's Taxonomy, and a scoring selection other than the default.

Choose Item Owner

Choose Item Owner

If you choose to commit an item, the next step is to choose an item owner. An item owner can review and edit an item and move it along its life cycle.

Locate the user to whom you want to assign the item in the user list and select their radio button [1]. Then click the Select User button [2].

The item is now committed and has an owner. A next step for the owner might be:

  • Moderate the item. Confirm that it looks good, and allow the item into the Bank or send it back to the author.
  • Send the item for review.
  • Make comments and send the item back to you for further edits.
Previous Article Adding Media
Next Article Adding Alignments